Towards a century at the heart of Connacht rugby

Seconds 19 – Gort 0


Match Result

  • Result: Galwegians Seconds 19 - Gort 0
  • Venue: Crowley Park on Sun Feb 24th 2013
  • Competition:

Match Report

Galwegians 2nds made it through to their second Heineken Cup Final in a row with a decisive 19 point victory over a feisty Gort side in Crowley Park on a bitterly cold, but sun-kissed Sunday afternoon.

The home side were firm favourites for this tie but it was the visitors who almost opened the scoring when intercepting an attempted pass out of defense. However an astonishing tackle by fullback Ronan Burke over the try line prevented a Gort try and Wegians cleared the danger through their dominant scrum.

Wegians got on the scoreboard with a try from centre Matt Dever who powered his way over after a period of Wegian domination. 22 mins 7-0.

The domination by the home side continued and a slick backline move sent wing Ronan Moore to cross the whitewash in the corner. 26 mins 12-0

Gort tried to power their way back into the game but solid Wegians defending kept them scoreless for the rest of the half. Halftime Galwegians 2nds 12 Gort 0.

The second half became quite a fractious affair with 3 sinbinnings and a red card. A fracas 6 minutes into the half saw a yellow card for each side and set the tone for the rest of the match.

Wegians stretched their lead when their dominant scrum allowed scrum-half Conor O'Rourke to snipe over under the posts to make it a 3 score game. 56 mins 19-0.

An already ill-tempered match degenerated into something of a dog-fight with a flareup on 67 minutes leading to a second yellow for Wegians and a red for Gort.

The last 13 minutes was even more forgettable than an already forgettable match had been up to that point with no more scoring opportunities for either side as the game petered out to its inevitable conclusion.

Wegians will meet Monivea, who defeated Castlebar in the other semi-final, on Easter Sunday in the Sportsground.


15 R Burke, 14 S Thompstone, 13 D Symes, 12 M Dever, 11 R Moore, 10 R Shaughnessy, 9 C O'Rourke, 1 M Fox, 2 G Fahy, 3 D McHugh, 4 D Deegan, 5 S Perkins, 6 E Tarmey, 7 M Towey, 8 K O'Shea 16 M Connolly, 17 J Healy, 18 P Griffin, 19 C Roarty

© 2024 Galwegians RFC

Theme by Anders NorΓ©nUp ↑