Towards a century at the heart of Connacht rugby

Firsts 43 – DLSP 0


Match Result

  • Result: Galwegians Firsts 43 - DLSP 0
  • Venue: Crowley Park on Sat Nov 17th 2012
  • Competition: AIL Division 2A
  • Match photos
  • Match video

Match Report

Galwegians won their second home game in succession when scoring a 7 try victory over DLSP in Crowley Park on Sat afternoon.

The victory was built on the totally dominant scrum that got the first score of the day when a penalty try was given inside the first quarter. Outhalf Tadhg Leader converted. 6 mins – Galwegians 7 DLSP 0.

The pack continued to exert their superiority and their efforts were rewarded when second row Anthony Ryan battered his way over for the second try. 17 mins – Galwegians 14 DLSP 0.

The pressure being applied by the pack was telling on the visiting side and eventually their scrum-half Gannon was sent to the bin for persistent infringing.

Wegians backs got in on the try scoring act when after an initial incision from outside centre John Cleary was halt just short of the line, inside centre Dave Clarke coolly finished off a sweeping move in the corner for the 3rd try of the match. 28 mins – Galwegians 19 DLSP 0.

The bonus point try came just before halftime when No. 8 Jonathon Gardiner crashed over off a 5 metre scrum. 38 mins – Galwegians 24 DLSP 0.

The second half did not bring any relief for the visitors are Wegians continued to pile on the scores. The first of the second half came from fullback Darragh Leader who ran a beautiful line to take lovely soft pass from his brother Tadhg to slice through a static defense an score under the posts. 47 mins – Galwegians 31 DLSP 0.

The pack continued to provide good go forward ball for the backline and some slick handling from a scrum sent Cleary diving over in the corner for the 6th try of the match. 50 mins – Galwegians 38 DLSP 0.

The final try of the game came with 10 minutes left when Cleary once again finished some good work from the backs to slide over in the corner. 70 mins – Galwegians 43 DLSP 0.

The game petered out without any further scores with Weigans happy to attain their first try bonus of the season. Fulltime Galwegians 43 DLSP 0.


Galwegians: 15 D Leader, 14 C Conroy (capt), 13 J Cleary, 12 D Clarke, 11 D Symes, 10 T Leader, 9 B Lee, 1 J Naughton, 2 C Muldoon, 3 J East, 4 A Ryan, 5 B McClearn, 6 E Rooney, 7 I Muldoon, 8 J Gardiner. Substitutes: 16 C Oโ€™Rourke, 17 G Oโ€™Brien, 18 R Fitzgerald, 19 B Ryan, 20 P Griffin.

© 2024 Galwegians RFC

Theme by Anders NorรฉnUp ↑