Towards a century at the heart of Connacht rugby

Seconds 28 – Monivea 3


Match Result

  • Result: Galwegians Seconds 28 - Monivea 3
  • Venue: Monivea on Sun Feb 2nd 2014
  • Competition:

Match Report

Monivea 3 Galwegians 28.
Sun Feb 2, Monivea, Heineken Junior Cup Final

Galwegians gained revenge for last season's Heineken Junior Cup final defeat when they knocked out holders Monivea in Monivea on Sunday with a four try salvo.

Galwegians first try was initated by centre Matt Dever splitting the home defense to plunge deep into the Monivea 22, Wegians recycled a couple of times before No.8 Jack Dineen crashed over. Scrum half Conor Lowndes slotted the conversion.

The second try came off a botched Monivea scrum. Flanker Matt Towey pounced on the loose ball to turn it over, the ball made its way to centre Rory Parata who sliced through the cover to score under the posts.

20 minutes gone, Wegians leading by 14, their forwards dominating the scrums, their backline cutting swathes through the Monivea defense, this match looked like it was done and dusted.

However Monivea showed their true grit and worked themselves back into the match. They tightened their defense and prevented any more scores before the half.

The visitors were conceding a raft of penalties and early in the second half winger Shane Madden was sin binned for slowing down a ruck ball close to his own line to prevent a Monivea try.

Wegians survived the onslaught during the sin bin period and only conceded a penalty.

The game was held up for a lengthy period for an injury that saw Monivea's Jack Burke leave the field on a stretcher with concussion.
The stoppage took the wind out of the home side and Wegians upped the tempo in the loose.

A break out of defenseΒ  by Monivea was snuffed out and immediately turned into a counter attack that saw Eoin O'Mahoney chip through and outstrip the cover to score in the corner.

The game finished with Wegians fullback Ciaran Gaffney scorching down the wing to dot down in the corner and to put the icing on the cake Lowndes knocked over the difficult conversion.

Wegians have been drawn away to the winner of the Ballinasloe/Sligo quarter final on Sunday.

Galwegians: C Gaffney, R Burke, R Parata, M Dever, S Madden, D Clarke, C Lowndnes, C Kyne, C Gavin, P Griffin, S Perkins, J Healy, M Towey, N Dillon, J Dineen
Sub: D Symes, E O'Mahoney, D Deegan, S McGrath, C Dunne

© 2024 Galwegians RFC

Theme by Anders NorΓ©nUp ↑