Towards a century at the heart of Connacht rugby

Seconds 55 – Castlebar 7


Match Result

  • Result: Galwegians Seconds 55 - Castlebar 7
  • Venue: Crowley Park on Sun Oct 16th 2011
  • Competition: Connacht J1A League

Match Report

Galwegians 2nds got back into winning ways with a comprehensive 9 tries to 1 bonus point victory over fellow strugglers Castlebar in a showry windswept Crowley Park on Sunday. Wegians made eight changes from the side that were walloped away to Ballina last week, and they were obviously very effective.

The Sky Blues got of to a rapid start with scrumhalf Martin Connolly crashing over for the first try inside 10 mins. This was quickly followed by a try from outhalf Ross Shaughnessy, as he continues his injury return, as the home side dominated the early possession.

Centre Padraig Jennings was next to cross the whitewash for Wegians as they continued to convert their early possession and territory into points.

10 minutes before half time the bonus point was secured as wing Andy Fallon scorched down the sideline and finish under the posts as Jennings converted all 4 scores.

Wegians continued to win the collisions which led to Shaughnessy's second converted try early in the second half.

Castlebar got on the scoreboard with a penalty try after good pressure in the scrum had Wegians back peddling and then prevented a certain try by illegal blocking of Castlebar as they raced to get the touchdown from a hack through.

However this just spurred Wegians to pile on the pressure and led to a second try from Fallon followed by a flopping try from replacement prop Martin Fox. Centre Matt Dever was next on the scoresheet before the final try of the day came for the impressive Dave O'Hara on his return from injury, giving a final score of 55-7 to the home side.


15 R. O'Brien 14 A. Fallon 13 M. Dever 12 P. Jennings 11 S. Coroon 10 R. Shaughnessy 9 M. Connolly 8 D O'Hara 7 R. David 6 S. Egan 5. S Perkins 4 D. Hogan 3. G. Fahy 2. R. Fitzgerald 1. J. Naughton 16 D. Deegan 17 M. Burke 18 M. Fox 19 R. Burke 20 D. Leader

© 2024 Galwegians RFC

Theme by Anders NorΓ©nUp ↑