Towards a century at the heart of Connacht rugby

U13s 8 – Sligo 5


Match Result

  • Result: Galwegians U13 8 - Sligo 5
  • Venue: Ballyhaunis on Sun Apr 26th 2015
  • Competition: AIL Division 2A
  • Match photos

Match Report

On Sunday last our U13s faced their second away match in a week having put Ballina to the sword in Ballina a week previous to reach the Plate final v Sligo in Ballyhaunis. Thus was an epic encounter.

Wegians went ahead in the first half with a well worked try from George Hill. Sligo camped in our half for practically all of the second half.

Jack Beatty at 10, converted one of the few chances we had by kicking a fine penalty under pressure soon after Sligo had equalised with a break away try. The pressure was immense with a fine display in the centre by 12 Garvin Surlis who carried and tackled tirelessly and 13 Conor Jackson who carried on despite a bad knock was as brave as ever.

Luke Kelly had a fine game at 9 while Tuan O'Malley made s vital interception at full back to save a certain score by Sligo who threatened out wide. The forwards had a really strong performance led by Gary Lally as Pack Leader. Two hookers shared their roles ably and selflessly in Conor Joyce andΒ Ben Hornibrook.

At 8 Jordan Browne worked tirelessly all afternoon. Aidan Roland, Hughie Duffy, Joe Agbo, Max Bennett, Eoin O'Connor, Zak Kavanagh and Liam Griffin all stood up as proud young Galwegians by defending and carrying ball all afternoon. On the wing Gavin O'Leary made a great break to gain vital yards when we were under pressure. Ciaran O'Flaitheartha bore up all day under serious pressure on his wing. Hugh McGovern replaced Gavin in the second half and caused problems in attack and defence. Tom Kelly was introduced on the wing in the second half to soak up the pressure for Ciaran which he did with a cool head.

A few young players Eoin Madden, Sean Murray, Alan Whyte, Aaron Clark & Cian Morgan through injury and other reasons did not get game time on this occasion but have worked hard and diligently all through the campaign to make the 23. Thanks to all concerned.

Pat, Niall and Evin.

© 2024 Galwegians RFC

Theme by Anders NorΓ©nUp ↑