Towards a century at the heart of Connacht rugby

U15s 36 – Monivea 14


Match Result

  • Result: Galwegians U15 36 - Monivea 14
  • Venue: Monivea RFC on Sat Dec 3rd 2016
  • Competition: Connacht U15 League

Match Report

The U15s played Monivea in the  League last Saturday in Monivea. Always a tough encounter, they beat us very narrowly at home earlier in the league.

We ran out comfortable winners on the day 36:14 with Monivea missing a key player and losing a few to injury during the game. 6 Minutes in George Hill, playing at 7, scored a fine try and Monivea came back strongly with a converted try on the 15th minute to lead by 2 points. Edward Shekete, our no 8, scored a try 3 minutes later with a conversion by Out-half, Jack Beatty to bring the score to 10:7.

In the dying minute of the 1st half, Monivea scored a fine converted try to bring them to 14 points and the half-time score 14:12 to Monivea. Both sides knew they were in a battle but unquestionably on the day, Galwegians were playing all the rugby in this first half.

At half time we asked the boys for a reaction and they certainly delivered in a very tight 20 minute period of the second half.

Cian Clancy playing at 11 last Saturday and who transferred this year from Tuam, scored a great try on the wing on the 38th minute to bring us to 17: ahead. 3 minutes later Edward Shekete scored again to bring us to 22 points.

The game was still in the balance and Monivea in true Monivea fashion, came back hard at us for this period of the match. Monivea were pushed us hard but our defense was resolute. Garvin Surlis, playing at 13, took the game beyond doubt with a fine running try on the far wing and Jack Beatty converted this one also to bring the score to 29:14.

In reality the game was now over after 26 minutes. Edward Shekete, had the final say with a try under the posts which Jack Beatty duly converted.

We have added a number of new players in the past couple of seasons including  MacDara O'Griofa; Cian Clancy; Daragh Creighton; Henri Bartolozzi; Edward Shekete; Marcin Drozdz; Morgan O'Loghlin; Cian Mulrooney; Shane McComiskey; Gabriel Herescu; Patrick Keane; Shane Devlin; Ben Kelly; Omo Olosula; Mircea Tabalae; Tristan Kirby; Sean Curley; Bryan McDonagh.


15: MacDara O'Griofa, 14: Ciarán Hernan OFlaherty, 13: Garvin Surlis, 12: Luke Kelly, 11: Cian Clancy, 10: Jack Beatty, 9: Daragh Creighton, 1: Joseph Agbo, 2: Ben Hornibrook, 3: Liam Togher-Griffin, 4: Henri Bartolozzi, 5: Gary Lally, 6: Hugh Duffy, 7: George Hill, 8: Edward Shekete, 16: Conor Joyce, 17: Marcin Drozdz, 18: Morgan O'Loughlin, 19: Oliver Kelly, 20: Shane McComiskey, 21: Conor Jackson, 22: Alan Whyte, 23: Tom Kelly

© 2024 Galwegians RFC

Theme by Anders NorénUp ↑