Towards a century at the heart of Connacht rugby

U19s 0 – Rondebosch BHS 50


Match Result

  • Result: Galwegians U19 0 - Rondebosch BHS (South Africa) 50
  • Venue: Crowley Park on Mon Apr 2nd 2012
  • Competition: Friendly

Match Report

Galwegians u19s welcomed a physically imposing and hard tackling South African school side to Crowley Park on Monday evening. Rondebosch Boys must have been some of the largest 16 and 17 year olds to ever grace the Glenina ground whose firm conditions suited the Bosch boys who didn't hold back in the tackle and ran the ball at every opportunity. The Galwegian side, 11 of whom were under 18, gave as good as they got and provided an evening of enthralling rugby to the decent crowd who came along to watch.

With neither side dominating possession or territory the win on the night was secured by the better drilled South African side who were playing their fourth match in 12 days. Galwegians u19s, in contrast, have only managed 2 competitive fixtures all season and this was a newly assembled side who suffered on the scoreboard due to a lack of preparation but demonstrated no lack of skill or spirit.

Rondebosch, who have made significant progress over the last 4 years into the top etchelon of South African schools rugby, thanked the Galwegian side for giving them the most physically challenging fixture of their 4 pre-season games in Wales and Ireland.

Special thanks to Connacht's Dylan Rogers and our own Jamie Stephens who coached the Galwegian side. And Ethienne Reynecke who provided tactical awareness on the night. Also to the hospitality crew led by Noel Leader and Greg Costello who were ably assisted by Cassie Deegan and Susan Murray with her little helpers.


Paddy Kitt, Jordan Dooley, Sam Knight, Marc Cleary, Finn Stoneman, Ciaran Gaffney, Ronan O'Donnell (c), Dan McArdle, Cathal Roarty, Aaron O'Flaherty, Eoghan O'Brien, Stephen Murray, Andrew Waters, Oisin Tegeler, Eoin Morrissey. Subs: Paul Hackett, Patrick Dervan, Arlen King, Eric Faherty, Paul Power (all used after 35 min).

© 2024 Galwegians RFC

Theme by Anders NorénUp ↑