Towards a century at the heart of Connacht rugby

U20s 18 – Boyne 15


Match Result

  • Result: Galwegians U20 18 - Boyne 15
  • Venue: Crowley Park on Sun Feb 18th 2018
  • Competition:

Match Report

Boyne RFC sits 2nd in the JP Flanagan U 20 Premier 3 Leinster League and came to Glenina with intent last Sunday. However, a determined Galwegians, captained by Tiernan Surlis and a side fresh from a hard-fought win v UCD the previous week met the Boyne siders head-on in this physical but enthralling encounter.

The first half looked initially like it might go to form as Boyne attacked relentlessly but Galwegians responded equally well playing smarter rugby and dealt very ably with the physicality of Boyne in the opening 10 mins. The Glenina boys could be summarised as being a fierce and rugby smart Wegians outfit.

Scores in the first half were limited to 2 converted penalties from the left boot of Dylan Hammill and 1 unconverted try by Boyle’s impressive 6 as we led by 1 at the break.

Boyne broke thru on an interception to score a try that did not reflect the run of play but missed another conversion after 12 mins in the second half. Game on. 21 mins into the second half, Wegians burst through for a great try from the powerful prop Christy Reilly and unfortunately, the conversion was not taken on this occasion but this score was a just reward as Galwegians played the better rugby.

The re-start from Boyne was poor and Wegians went wide to bring pacy 13 Aaron Martyn into space - another try on c 23 mins and this time Dylan Hamill made it count - 18:10 to Galwegians.

A tough 10 mins, with 4 scrums - Boynes main area of dominance on the day, led to a try for Boyne - who again missed the resulting conversion to bring the score to 18:15.

A proud team, Galwegians were delighted with their win. A tough game all-around but a thoroughly enjoyable encounter to watch.


15 Ewan Heapes; 14 Kevin Brosnahan; 13 Aaron Whyte Martyn; 12 Justin Coen; 11 John Simms; 10 Dylan Hamill; 9 Daniel Johnson; 1 Christopher Reilly; 2 Rory Fleming; 3 Gary Keane; 4. James Butler; 5 Iarlaith Morrin Laheen; 6 Tiernan Surlis (Captain); 7. Michael O'Donnell; 8 Abdul Haq (Terry) Abayomi. Replacements: 16 Conor Gillespie; 17 Patrick O'Sullivan; 19 Dylan Neary; 20 Jordan Connaughton.

© 2024 Galwegians RFC

Theme by Anders NorénUp ↑