Towards a century at the heart of Connacht rugby

U20s 34 – Old Belvedere 27


Match Result

  • Result: Galwegians U20 34 - Old Belvedere 27
  • Venue: Old Belvedere RFC on Sun Feb 19th 2017
  • Competition:

Match Report

Our under 20s travelled to Anglesea Road, to face Old Belvedere in the Leinster JP Fanagan league last Sunday.

Playing against a slight breeze in the first, half Wegians went 3 points down after a penalty from the Belvedere out half.

Wegians grew into their stride after that and dominated the close exchanges using their big pack to gain the hard yards, which in turn led to a well worked try from second row and in form Abdul-Haq Abayoni, with the extras added by Cilllian Breathnach. Belvedere struck back within a heartbeat to cross for a try by their number 8 after some slack Wegians defense.

Wegians finished the half the stronger of the sides with a well struck penalty by winger Cillian Breathnach and a well taken try by centre Graham Gallagher who pounced on a loose ball to cross the whitewash.Β Half Time score 10-15 to Galwegians.

Wegians came out in the second half with clear intentions to make use of the wind through the boot of scrum half Stephen Browne. This territory then led to the Wegians number 8 forcing his way over in the corner . With pressure on the Belvedere scrum Wegians made it count when winning a scrum against the head led to scrum half Stephen Browne picking and bundling his way over to get the bonus point try with the extras added by Cillian Breathnach.

Belvedere were not in the mood for giving up easily however and came straight back into the game with 2 fine tries and a penalty to make it a draw game.

With the clock red Wegians found themselves in the Belvedere 22 with a good attacking chance. A loose ball from a ruck was swept off the ground into the grateful arms of Kevin McDonnell who showed great pace to run in under the posts to grab the win at the death, with the conversion added by Cillian Breathnach it made the Full Time score 27-34 to Galwegians in Belvedere.


15. Andrew Conlon, 14. Cillian Breathnach, 13. Graham Gallagher, 12. Fiachra O'Griofa, 11. E.J. Lim, 10. Jordan Connaughton, 9. Stephen Browne, 1. Joshua Hays, 2. Martin McGrath, 3. Patrick O'Sullivan, 4. Fearghal Dooley, 5. Abdul-Haq Abayoni, 6. Kevin McDonnell, 7. Francis Stweart, 8. Eoghan Birmingham.

© 2024 Galwegians RFC

Theme by Anders NorΓ©nUp ↑