Towards a century at the heart of Connacht rugby

Women 32 – St Marys 10


Match Result

  • Result: Galwegians Women 32 - St Marys 10
  • Venue: Crowley Park on Sun Nov 9th 2014
  • Competition: AIL Womens League

Match Report

Galwegians secure first win of the season.

Galwegians secured vital points with a comprehensive win over St Marys. Their excellent attack, both from the backs and the pack, revived hope for their 2014 AIL campaign.

Galwegians were quick to start with a try after 7 minutes from full back Mairead Coyne. Just 7 minutes later her sister, winger Patricia Coyne, touched down in the left corner. This explosive attack instilled confidence in the home side. Excellent lines from Emma Clery and Lisa McDonagh put the St Marys defence under pressure for the majority of the first half.

Edel McMahon and her fellow forwards carried the ball ferociously throughout the game with prop Laura Healy and hooker Beth Mallard both scoring tries. Clare Raftery converted the former. Another try from Mairead Coyne before the half time whistle and Galwegians led with a 27-0 advantage.

The second half started much like the first with Galwegians scoring a try on the 48th minute, this time as a result of a great line from Lisa McDonagh. St Marys tested a tiring Galwegians team. Their attempts were effective with two successive unconverted tries.

However, it was a case of too little too late for St Marys as Galwegians emptied their bench onto the pitch to take home the win with conviction.

Final score Galwegians 32 – 10 St Marys

The refixed match Galwegians V Tralee takes place Sunday 16th November in Tralee.


1. Laura Feely, 2. Beth Mallard, 3. Ruth O Reilly, 4. Kathrine McDonagh, 5. Fiona Farrell, 6. Michelle Fitzpartick, 7. Marion Sheridan, 8. Edel McMahon, 9. Mary Healy, 10. Clare Raftery, 11. Noreen Coyne, 12. Lisa McDonagh, 13. Emma Clery, 14. Patricia Coyne, 15. Mairead Coyne, 16. Maura O Brien, 17. Tracey Gannon, 18. Ciara O Connor, 19. Alex Hennessy, 20. Pamela Devaney, 21. Amy O Donoghue, 22. Siobhan Daly

© 2024 Galwegians RFC

Theme by Anders NorΓ©nUp ↑